I am an atheist. If people asked me what my creed is, I would refer them to the mission statement of the Richard Dawkins Foundation.

Our Mission

"Our mission is to support scientific education, critical thinking and evidence-based understanding of the natural world in the quest to overcome religious fundamentalism, superstition, intolerance and human suffering."

I remain "faithful" to this "creed," but these days, it's proving difficult.

Last month, I quit my job. I was a senior instructor in the company's training department for financial services. For seven and a half years, that company was my home. Last year, I was promised a promotion. It wasn't given to me. I thought, "No hard feelings." Last month, I spoke to the director of the training department, talked to her about my readiness to take on a role in management, and was asked to wait. I thought about the opportunity cost of waiting for a position to open and the possiblity of another broken promise. After much consideration, I gave my company my thirty-day notice.

I have years of experience. I am good at what I do. I was confident I would land another job right away. It's been a month since I left my company. I have been aggressively looking for employment. So far, I have only received two interview requests from companies who, in the end, said they couldn't afford me.

Last night, after my girlfriend and I projected our expenses against our remaining savings, I was tempted to pray. The thought that we only had enough funds left to sustain us for two more months wouldn't leave me. I found myself getting out of bed and going to the kitchen and plainly arguing with myself. I couldn't silence this little voice inside my head saying "Now would be a really good time to talk to the god you decided to stop believing in."